I am sitting in my classroom, 15 minutes until I walk into the headmasters office. Why I am I waiting? Why am I going to see him? The usual… I want to be promoted. I want to be given status. I want a bit more money. However, the reality is that teaching is a career where I feel you can set your own targets… I just happen to be someone who always wants to do more… BUT NOT MORE OF THE SAME!

My teaching career has been absolutely wonderful. I love the variety of experiences it has brought. The multitude of interactions, ideas, communications, innovations, stresses and strains… it really is the most demanding of professions and the most rewarding.

I love the way I have been able to have a different year, every year, which at the end of, I can always look back and say I achieved x,y,z and a,b,c,d,e,f,g,h,i,j,k,l,m,n,o,p,q,r,s,t,u,v and w. You’re always moving forwards… sometimes so much that you can loose the perspective of exactly how far to have come!

This time I looking to become KS3 coordinator. An important role. Leader of pastoral care. Principle disciplinarian. Standard setting. However, I also see it a the chief celebrator. The opportunity to interact with all students, parents and teachers. If you’re clever, you make it a fun and rewarding celebration of young people’s multiple achievements. If you’re not… it can become a burden of punishments, moans, groans and failure!

So… I will attend today’s interview. I hope I will be able to express myself. I hope I can answer the questions… and if I can’t… well I will ask to come back to it at the end of the interview.

WISH ME LUCK